14/30

my love of poetry began
as I turned sixteen
in the bathroom
scribbling
this idea
into lines
a poem
oh fuck
I hate poetry

image

I thought then
yet I pursued poetry
like a detective would a lead
whilst growing into my own skin
through poetry I discovered
my identity
and made friends
experimenting with
styles, topics
what I like, what others do
feeling the power of
my punctuated thoughts
punching through people’s
ideas of who I was
now do you see?

image

K.L 2016  (C)

Author: Idontwearahat.

Katie is a published poet, reader and reviewer.

Leave a Reply

