Book Review: The Princess Saves Herself In This One.  Amanda Lovelace. 

​The Princess Saves Herself In This One is a collection of poetry, which I came across purely by chance on Tumblr. 

Author Amanda Lovelace has a blog there as Ladybookmad and the blog was recommended to me. The current post being promotion for The Princess Saves Herself In This One. This is a free book until the 5th of July and can be purchased from Amazon. I wasn’t going to pass on a freebie and immediately begun to read.

I was shocked at first with the poetry being so precise and truthful. The format of the poems is also a variation on the norm and it seems that all the ‘rules’ of poetry  have been thrown from the window. The subjects are of abuse, cancer, family ties, anorexia (among others) All difficult subjects to write of but these poems are fresh and enlightening.  

The Princess Saves Herself In This One made me think of my own losses and think from the perspective of the other people that those losses must have affected. 

By the end the positive does however outweigh the bad and Amanda Lovelace begins, I think, to speak directly to the reader and I felt empowered by her words. Some of the sentiments of the poems match my own and I felt that I had found my voice through these poems.

A soaring collection of poetry,  I wanted to reread The Princess Saves Herself In This One as soon as I had finished it. 

Extract 


emily— 

i often 

find myself 

wondering 

if you are still out there 

with lanterns, 

looking for 

yourself. 


is sylvia there 

with you, 

guiding 

the way by 

the old 

brag 

of her 

beating 

heart? 


does 

virginia 

have 

room 

all her own? 


& what about harriet 

& anne

& harper? 


does 

a woman

ever 

find 

her peace? 

is death 

our only 

feather-covered hope? 


– i’ll be there with matches.

Author: Idontwearahat.

Katie is a published poet, reader and reviewer.

Leave a Reply

