Author Interview. Sheldon Sinnamon. 


1) You are a poet, having self-published Oceans of Ink earlier this year and Trapped in Words is forthcoming in December, why this year have you decided to release these books? What was the motivation? 

A lot had to do with wanting to get my stuff out there and connecting with people. To show both friends and “haters” I am serious about writing. Most material I have published in these two books I have had since 2012. I just wanted it to be perfect before release. 

My motivation originally was to do a trilogy documenting my battle with mental health. ‘Oceans Of Ink’ was going to be about me just before hitting rock bottom. ‘Trapped In Words’ was being trapped in depression and then ‘Its About Tie’ was to be the aftermath and finding a new lease of life. 

Now it’s all changed. ‘Its About Tie’ is now the last chapter in ‘Trapped In Words’ to leave the reader with hope at the end. 
2) You are a spoken word poet. Something many people find is that they don’t like hearing the sound of their own voice. Do you ever have this problem and how did you overcome this?

When I first started, it was so cringe worthy. I detested my voice. Now, I’ve just gotten used to it. I am still terrible with deleting brand new recordings just because of the vocals being atrocious. Overcoming is just learning to be happy with all you can do.   
3) A poet myself I use the internet to publish my work. I have found that many poetry websites, web forums and magazines are dominated by Americans. I think there is  more of a festival scene in the UK. Do you find this to be true and what are your experiences with how you share your work?
For me, it’s a love hate relationship with the Internet because it’s such a huge sea of people trying to get noticed. It’s amazing because you can all get out there yet to be recognized is an extremely difficult task…but with the right people supporting you, that can all change. 

Americans seem to be more accepting with the spoken word world. Festivals are more UK’s characteristics. If I were to ever make a mark, a USA tour would be a dream.  

4) Your books have many poems about depression and anxiety. I also have depression and anxiety and find writing can be cathartic. Is poetry cathartic for you and do you hope to also inspire people through your poetry to seek out help and support?

Yes. I find expressing yourself through art can be spiritually rewarding in multiple ways. I would love to inspire others to get help or express themselves that doesn’t include harming them or others. 
5) Where did the ‘King of Clowns’ name come from? 

The whole King Of Clowns thing is truly a long story so I’ll just say one aspect of it. I came up with the title while I had an extremely low self-esteem. As if I were saying I am the worst of the worst, highest of the mess-ups. Then I remembered a John Hughes film ‘Sixteen Candles’ where Farmer Ted says “King of the dipshits” and it progressed from there.  
6) What, or who, is the biggest influence on your writing?

Music helps me as I write. I used to have a person as a muse but like most people, they don’t stick around. I am now in search for a muse that wont leave. Nature isn’t much of one for me if I am honest; maybe I have been going to the wrong places. 
7) Do you read? If so, who are your favourite writers?

I really love the beat generation. Everything about that just spins me into amazement. I also really appreciate the likes of Jim Carroll and Charles Bukowski. All of which are honest talking poets and straight to the point, no hiding or misguiding. Then there is Dylan Thomas and his man-child ways. 
8) Other than writing, what are you passionate about?

Music. I can’t go a day without listening to some of my favourite bands. Mostly Metal. But I am extremely diverse in genres. I also love Classical, Rap, Jazz, Pop, Rock, Dub Step and Drum And Bass. 
9) What are your future ambitions for your writing? 

I have already started on another two books. One of which is full of Haikus and the other one is the final part of the trilogy I mentioned earlier. Both books have titles and I am looking at releasing at least one of them in 2017, if ‘Trapped In Words’ gets a good reaction. 

Sheldon is an honest emotional storytelling poet from the UK. Since 2012 he has been in spoken word videos, a short film, songs, anthologies and his own collection of poetry titled ‘Oceans Of Ink’. More material has been collected for his second book titled ‘Trapped In Words’ which will be released December 1st 2016

 


Leave a Reply

