Book Review. Journey to the Poetic Light – Illuminations.  Nolan Holloway.  

Genre : Poetry 

Rating ☆ ☆ ☆ 

Available at Amazon.co.uk and Amazon.com 

Free on Kindle unlimited 

A collection of introspective poems on love, being equals, nature and religion, among other subjects. There is some intriguing takes on life with ‘Clock with no hands’

‘What I owned relegated to a grocery cart

Love frozen to the metal frame’

And ‘We have become strangers 

Bland with no seasoning’

Flashback, Inside, Renewed Encounter and the sensual Summer is Fine were some of my favourite poems that I read. I like that the author writes not only of the enticement of a woman, but of new beginnings and life. 

As the book reached the middle the poems became more experimental, therefore expressive, with dashes and phrases in capital letters. I felt as if I could hear the writer speaking to me. I would advise the author to explore this more.

Overall I didn’t feel as if the theme really came through, and the overall message I got from this book is accepting yourself, before giving yourself to others. I didn’t quite connect with the poems in Journey to the Poetic Light but opinions on poetry are, of course, subjective and I think there is plenty to enjoy in this collection and is by no means a terrible book of poetry. 

Leave a Reply

