SUNDAY SPOTLIGHT. LINDA M. CRATE, author of THE MAGIC SERIES.

When did I start writing? 

When I was a child, naturally. I have always loved and been drawn to stories and words. I love the way they sound on the tongue, how they can create images in the mind, and how they unravel different things depending on intonation and voice not to mention the order they’re written in.

Authors have always fascinated me with their magic and I remember writing very early on in my life. With the encouragement of my teachers I continued to write, but the moment I turned thirteen writing became an inescapable magic that I had to call my own for it had claimed me as writing often does claim their lyrical plot masters.

What genres do I write and what influences my writing?

 
I write about many things. Some fantasy and some real, and the best I believe have characteristics and combinations of both. I write about personal experiences, relatives, my life as a child and now, bullies, social issues, stories I’ve heard on the news that cause me ire or horror, relationships, friendships, life, death, horror stories and poetry, and a great many of different things including essays and novels.
As for influences it can be anything and is everything really: the news, music, the weather, my personal experiences, social issues, gender studies/issues, my emotions, other writers, my disagreement with another artists opinion, etc. 

What are the themes in my writing? 

I have many themes and it depends on the nature of the beast. Poems and short stories are more concise and so my plot has to be both simple and complex in a short amount of time.
I write about universal truths, morality, social justice, love and the absence of such, relationships, how nothing in life is ever as it seems and can change in the blink of an eye, how one must be careful what they wish for, etc.

Where do I write?

 Anywhere and everywhere. I sometimes come up with great ideas when I am not at home so I generally take notes on my ipod or my computer when they’re with me, and if not I try to have a notebook so I can write down ideas because generally a turn of phrase I really like will get stuck in my head and I just with it and the rest unravels from there. 

What is next for my writing? 

I am constantly hoping to improve, of course. Striving to stay relatable whilst perfecting my craft and reinventing myself in new and unexpected ways.
I am honestly always working on something so expect more poems, short stories, articles, essays, reviews, and the like. I am hoping to get more chapbooks out in the poetry market, more fantasy novels out there, and I would even love to write a screenplay.
I don’t hold a glass orb that can tell me the future, but all I’m hoping for is to be successful at the thing I love most and that’s writing. If I can help and heal people with my words no matter where they’re published then I’m doing something right. 

My interests? 

In addition to writing I’m very interested in mythology, the fantasy genre, vampires, dreams and their relevance in an individuals life, anime, the ocean, mermaids, sirens, witches, harpies, unicorns, pegasi, werewolves, poetry, books, flowers, nature, etc. 

My hobbies? 

In addition to writing there’s swimming, nature walks, singing, dancing, watching crime shows and anime, reading comic books and manga, reading, etc.

My passions? 

In addition to writing I really have a passion for acting (which I haven’t done in far too long), singing, helping others, music, photography, etc. 

My country of residence? 

The United States of America

Favorite writers/artists

I know that I won’t be able to list all of them, and I apologize in advance because there are so many talented people in the world.
These, however, are some of my most favorites: Adrienne Rich, Edgar Allan Poe, J.K. Rowling, Shakespeare, Anne Rice, Agatha Christie, Sir Arthur Conan Doyle, Christopher Paolini, James Walters (my dearly departed beloved uncle was a beautiful artist), Joel Tesch, Laura Slade, Jen Beaudet, Amy Brown, Gabriel Picolo, Sorah Suhng, Kelly McKernan, Ash Evans, Dustin Bailard, Renee Lavoie, Sunbow Pendragon, Jacqui Hawk, Sarah Travis, N.C. Winters, Tiffany Toland-Scott, Carla Morrow, Janna Prosvirina, Laurell K. Hamilton, Jodi Piccoult, Emily Dickinson, L.F.A. Turppa, Megan Benjamin Adams, etc. 

Previous Publications: These are too numerous to name as I have many short stories and poems in anthologies and magazines both online and in print.

I have three chapbooks online free of charge: A Mermaid Crashing Into Dawn (Fowlpox Press), Less Than A Man (The Camel Saloon), and If Tomorrow Never Comes (Scars Publications).

I also have four novels published through Ravenswood Publishing through their imprint Chimera: Blood & Magic, Dragons & Magic, Centaurs & Magic, and Corvids & Magic.

Twitter Instagram Facebook

Leave a Reply

