Indenture: Free to Live. Eunice. E. Frimpong 


Writing is enjoyable but can also prove frustrating. I have learnt to embrace the frustration of not knowing what to write, as part of what it means to write.
I now know that writing is a process. Sometimes I am overwhelmed with inspiration and other times I have no insights. There are times when deadlines are approaching and I have written nothing and then just before the end date, there is a depth and beauty to what I produce. In this way, I always believe I will produce something, even when it seems as though I will hand in a blank sheet of paper and feel extremely embarrassed.
I begin by writing all that I know about that particular topic, in the form of scribbles, spider diagrams, bullet points… I then move on to research, through books, the internet and the shared experiences of others. I edit, and edit again and again, continually trying to reach the point at which I am satisfied with what I have produced. If, by this point, I do not have a finished poem, I allow the unconscious part of my brain to muse over the topic and try to use all that I have stored within and all that I am in the process of gathering from the world, through my senses, to produce a link to the topic.   
When I still do not know what to write I ask, either the one who set me the writing task, or friends and family for their ideas and understanding of the topic. This always brings unimaginable perspectives. Further still, I go in search of inspiration by being alert to anything in the course of my day that could help the situation.
There are however, those times when I am in the right place at the right time. I remember a particular event I needed to write for, the deadline was approaching and I had nothing, except the desire to give a unique perspective to the topic. I was feeling disheartened. As I sat in the living room, the programme I had been watching ended and a new one began. It was about the life of a writer and performer and it spanned her whole career. It showed her radical and free-spirited approach to her work, which was an extension of her bold character and unrestrained life.  When the program ended, I wrote what I was later to perform as a spoken word and now hope to release in the form of another book.
I have matured in writing because writing demands continual development and learning. I love language and trying to understand how people learn and this helps me in trying to find a solution to writing tasks. I ask friends and family for feedback on the things I write and this helps me to either make improvements or judge that the work is finished. I write having in mind that somebody will enjoy and learn from my work. 
When something I have written is complete it is a good representation of the topic I am working with and I feel satisfied.

An EXTRACT from INDENTURE 

Ever

So 

Afraid

He begun to cry-

Foreknowledge

He’d soon

Die.


Ancient

Great

Grandmother

Green

Leaf told

Lef.


“Look all around

Other leaves,

Other trees.

Time leaves turn

Yellow, orange, brown.

We’re green-

You’re the renowned.”


ABOUT THE AUTHOR 

Originally born in Ghana, Eunice E. Frimpong came to live in London as a child. She attended the University of Manchester and abroad at the University of Missouri where she studied history and became more involved in her Christian faith. She has worked as a teacher to children with special education needs and disabilites and still works as an educator in London. This is her first book. 

BN Amazon.co.uk 

Leave a Reply

