#breakthecycle

who is a broken person anyway – 

somebody you wouldn’t bet on to win?
well, that is me

you wouldn’t notice where i stand 

not ever

i don’t make myself loud enough or clear
is it attention or validation we crave 

and is that we get the two confused?
broken, i don’t like the word

i am not broken, i am – 

shit, i don’t know 
you cannot assume from my past that i am broken 

and therefore a lesser person 

anybody that meets me says i look innocent 

in appearance

but my demons chuckle because they are aware of the thoughts i have had 
from my past i am now experienced

and worn, like an old shoe 

handle carefully 

you think 

she has nothing to lose 
is this purely my own paranoia?
i am an outsider 

but don’t like to be 

given this stripe of head down 

it isn’t you they are talking about 

why would they 
yeah, you’re beautiful but only to fuck with 

your mind isn’t worth enquiring about 
it is obscene 

for anybody to be sure of themselves

isn’t it 
perhaps it can take years to feel as if you are in that position 
though do we admit i have 

had a mental illness 

the same as you have had a broken arm 

nose – 

breast implants 
in recovery 

no 

i am growing 

evolving 

constantly 
that is my recovery 

to not stagnate, to grasp every opportunity 
for every one of us 

there is a person who has 

committed suicide

no longer with us

cannot be 
the demons are silent while they eat 

scrape the plate clean 

but they wish to claim more victims 

for their dinner
mustn’t let them
break the cycle.  

K.L © 


                                                               { ● } 

                                         Facebook Twitter Instagram 

                                                 Buy me a Coffee! 

