A love poem. 

A slightly more cynical view of love. My poetry chapbook Tear Stained Pages can now be purchased on Amazon for your Kindle, or Kindle app. 


#bookreview There is Beauty in the Bleeding. Christina Hart. @ChristinaKHart

  • Publisher: Amazon
  • Release Date: October thirty-first 2017
  • Average Rating: 4.4/5 🌟
  • 147 Pages

Amazon // Book Depository // BN

Available on KU



I was not sure what to expect when opening this book, as I had heard of Hart, but not actually read one of her books, so a first for me! I would like to thank the author for gifting me with an ARC copy to review. 

While the narrator writes of heartbreak, there are poems that I feel may have been written at a later date, which gives some perspective, and context too. We don’t read so much about the relationship during, but in the aftermath of its ending. These are poems of emotions, and the barest of details, such as music choices, and sweaters, which leaves the reader to form our own thoughts. More intriguing, and telling, is in poem Drowning in Someone, ‘using your name like a lifeboat as a just-in-case I don’t feel like drowning in someone else,’

It will Come for you too, Tell me, One Truth, I will tell You , What Love Isn’t are poems where we read the narrator becoming hardened, and they can be quite brutal in their truths. There’s a tussle then of poems disbelieving such a relationship with a solid trust can be broken, with the narrator obviously conflicted. While you might expect a ‘happy ending‘ Hart pulls no punches. I would have thought poems We Get up, and Come up Swinging finished the book, but Hart really hits her stride. I loved the poems Trying to get by, on Sadness, on the Edge of Sanity, trying to be Okay, But your Guts are Prettier, Used-Air, and Broken Heart. Hart has a knack for using the word fuck in her writing, not sounding at all obscene, and adding to the power of her words. 

While poems, and books, seem to get shorter these days Hart’s book goes from strength to strength, with heartbreak at its core, and is an empowering testament to regrowth, and healing. 

There is Beauty in the Bleeding is a superb read, and if you haven’t picked up a poetry book since school, I think this one you should make the first, as it has relatable emotions, and is a well presented, well written, collection of poetry that would make any bookshelf look good.



#bookreview Click. Date. Repeat. K.J.Farnham.

Click Date Repeat coverClick Date Repeat

by K. J. Farnham

Genre: Contemporary Romance

Age category: Adult

Release Date: 21 August, 2014


These days, finding love online is as commonplace as ordering that coveted sweater. But back in 2003, the whole concept of Internet dating was still quite new, with a stigma attached to it that meant those who were willing to test the waters faced a fair amount of skepticism from friends and family.

Such is the case for Chloe Thompson, a restless 20-something tired of the typical dating scene and curious about what she might find inside her parents’ computer. With two serious but failed relationships behind her, Chloe isn’t even entirely sure what she’s looking for. She just knows that whatever it is, she wants to find it.

Based loosely on author K. J. Farnham’s real-life online dating experiences, Chloe’s foray into online dating involves a head-first dive into a world of matches, ice breakers and the occasional offer of dick pics, all while Chloe strives to shake herself of the ex who just refuses to disappear. Will she simultaneously find herself and “the one” online, or will the ever-growing pile of humorous and downright disastrous dates only prove her friends and family right? There’s only one way to find out…

Click. Date. Repeat.

You can find Click Date Repeat on Goodreads

You can buy Click Date Repeat here:

Amazon (Kindle)

Amazon (Paperback)

K. J. FarnhamAbout the Author:

Born and raised in a suburb of Milwaukee, K. J. Farnham was an educator for 12 years. She holds a bachelor’s degree from UW-Milwaukee and a master’s degree from Carroll University in Waukesha, Wisconsin.

After relocating from Milwaukee to Hudson, Wisc., in 2011, Farnham became a freelance writer and resolved to complete her first novel. The storyline for “Click Date Repeat” is a result of her experiences (and mishaps) with online dating, through which she met her husband.

Farnham lives with her husband, three children and four cats. When she is not busy keeping up with her kids, she can be found reading or writing. She is currently working on a spinoff of “Click Date Repeat” and YA suspense novel called SPIN.

You can find and contact the author here:








banner Lola's Blog Tours



Who has tried online dating? I have only dated the one man, for which I am eternally grateful, because it sounds complicated. What is it, when you send a message to somebody who has matched with your profile, that makes us continually check our phone for a reply? The claws of love!

The book. Chloe, our protagonist, is neither likeable, nor unlikable. I was concerned about some of the events in this book, such as that Chloe didn’t seem to think her ex Cliff’s behavior was stalkerish, i.e concerning, and that she was very submissive in letting the man have sex with her when he forced his way into her apartment, and as for her date when she gets extremely drunk, and cannot remember the sex they have, although she did say yes when her date asked if she was on birth control, or should he use a condom, but not to the actual sex. Isn’t this sexual assault? 

The psychic bit shoehorned into the last few chapters to explain why a psychic in Las Vegas predicted Chloe would meet a man from a town beginning with v, and they would have two sons, which the man she would date also had predicted, feels circumstantial.

And confusing, yes?

Does Chloe’s character change? No, not really. Are the other characters rememberable? No.

From an outsider looking in on the dating game, I found reading the role call of kooky dates, and scary boundary oversteps, fascinating, and there’s nothing wrong with the writing, I just raised my eyebrows quite a few times at Click, Date, Repeat. 

La La Love is now available to download for free to your Kindle.

Poet Harry Whitewolf said this about the book, ‘Love ain’t my favourite poetic theme to read about, but Lewington manages to come at the subject from all angles – from those small, tender moments that make all the difference, to heart ache, sex, and self-examination, and there’s plenty of other observations on life which fit nicely into the collection; and this is most definitely a collection that works well as a whole.’

Buy Now. Please Hear What I’m Not Saying. 

#pleasehearwhatimnotsaying is an anthology of poetry, beautifully put together by poet Isabelle Kenyon, and money raised from the sales of this book will be going to the UK mental health charity Mind. With many contributions from poets, there’s plenty to dip in & out of in this book.

My poem Silver Lining has also been included in the book.